“who’s next please?”

Fabienne, who lives near Paris, tells us about her memories of the market in Mesquer.
Mesquer Plage de Sorlock
I’ve given up counting the number of summers I spent in Mesquer, this charming seaside resort where my family has a holiday home.  Every holiday was the same, the household’s routine was punctuated by certain unavoidable ‘rituals’ such as : the market, games on the sands of La plage de Sorlock at Kercabellec, the siesta (for those who could manage one !), the games of hide n’ seek with our cousins or the impromptu picnics…in the garden!
If I think back carefully, and strange as this may seem, the market is one of my fondest memories: was it because of the atmosphere that prevailed there, the aromas, or just the overwhelming urge to have a bit of EVERYTHING that was on display on the stalls…  whatever the reason, despite the inevitable long wait, the market was (and still is today!) one of the moments I treasured most.
Maraîcher Guichet
A wander around the market at Quimiac was one of the first activities of the day to which a lot of us participated.   “Who’s next please?” this question marked the beginning of the endless queuing in front of the vegetable sellers stall…. With my sisters and my brother we would pass the time by trying to spot the strangest vegetables…such as the weird shaped potatoe, a carrot with two legs..peppers, courgettes, cucumbers…it was also the chance to test our knowledge of vegetables!

With our noses just at the right level we would dribble at the sight of the juicy strawberries crossing our fingers and hoping that our parents would buy a Punnett or even better two !
From the stall opposite came the appetizing aroma of roast chicken which came and tickled our nostrils and made us feel really hungry!  Further along the aisle mum would wander between the butcher’s stall, the chicken seller and the fishmonger.  In front of the poultry, we would organize, away from where our parents could see us, a face pulling competition to rival the expressions of the poor birds whose necks had been wrung...!  When it was fish buying day we would try and get closer discretely to be able to stick our fingers gingerly into the ice until the terrible moment when we would inevitably be called to order by mum: “Don’t touch ANYTHING!”

When we were good, we were allowed to eat some warmchichis’ (sugar coated choux pastry puffs)…and the ultimate reward was a ride on the merry-go-round situated next to the newsagents.
 
Maraîcher Guichet - marché de Mesquer
Today, time has moved on, the market gardener has taken his retirement but the family business has been handed on by his nephew.  I get great pleasure from going back to the market.  I still queue in front of the stalls even if today I am considerably taller!  I enjoy the bright colours and the hustle-bustle of the atmosphere even more!

To make the wait easier encourage my children to discover local produce.   It makes me laugh to see them playing exactly the same games as we did when we were their age!  Comforted in the knowledge that, like their parents before them, they too will make of this a precious memory to treasure…
 
If you fancy a stroll around one of the markets of the Destination Bretagne Plein Sud then just click here.

"A qui le tour ? "

Fabienne, installée en région parisienne, nous raconte ses souvenirs du marché de Mesquer.
 
Mesquer Plage de Sorlock


Je ne compte plus le nombre d’étés passés à Mesquer, cette charmante station balnéaire où ma famille possède un pied à terre. A chaque vacance, le programme de la maisonnée était rythmé par des rituels incontournables : le marché, les jeux dans le sable sur la plage de Sorlock à Kercabellec, la sieste (pour ceux qui y arrivaient), les parties de cache-cache avec les cousins ou les pique-niques improvisés… dans le jardin !
 

En y réfléchissant bien, et aussi bizarre que cela puisse paraître, le marché fait partie de mes meilleurs souvenirs : est-ce pour l’ambiance qui y régnait, les odeurs, ou l’envie de tout ce qui se présentait sur les étalages… toujours est-il, malgré l’attente inévitable, le marché était (et l’est encore aujourd’hui !) un moment que j’affectionnais plus particulièrement.
Maraîcher Guichet
Le tour de marché à Quimiac était la première activité de la journée à laquelle bon nombre d’entre nous participait ! « A qui le tour ? » cette question annonçait l’éternelle file d’attente devant l’étal du marchand de légumes… Avec mes sœurs et mon frère, nous passions le temps en recherchant les légumes les plus étranges : une pomme de terre difforme, une carotte à deux jambes… poivrons, courgettes, concombres… c’était également l’occasion de vérifier nos connaissances en matière de légumes !
 

Le nez à la bonne hauteur, nous salivions face aux succulentes fraises croisant les doigts pour que nos parents achètent une ou plutôt deux barquettes ! 

En face, les odeurs de poulets rôtis venaient titiller nos narines et ouvraient grand nos estomacs. Plus loin dans l’allée, maman alternait entre l’étal du boucher, du marchand de poulet et du poissonnier. Devant les volailles, nous organisions, à l’abri des regards de nos parents, un concours de grimaces pour rivaliser avec les pauvres volailles à qui l’on avait tordu le cou… Quand c’était jour de poisson, nous tentions une approche discrète, plongeant timidement les doigts dans la glace jusqu’à l’impératif rappel à l’ordre de maman : « Ne touchez à rien ! »

Lorsque nous étions sages, nous avions le droit de déguster des chichis chauds… et la récompense suprême était le tour de manège, situé juste à côté du marchand de journaux.
Maraîcher Guichet - marché de Mesquer


Aujourd’hui,le temps a passé,  le maraîcher est parti à la retraite mais l’affaire familiale continue avec le neveu. J’ai beaucoup de plaisir à retourner au marché. Et je continue à faire la queue devant les étals mais dorénavant j’ai pris de la hauteur et apprécie encore plus les couleurs et le brouhaha ambiant.

Pour patienter, j’apprends à mes enfants à découvrir les saveurs locales. Je m'amuse à les voir reproduire nos jeux d’enfants ! Certaine qu’eux aussi en garderont un bon souvenir
  • Envie de faire un tour sur l'un des marchés de la Destination Bretagne Plein Sud, cliquez ici.